Bollywood betrayed me again

Coming straight to the point, It’s Dedh Ishqiya I’m talking about. I thought I was going to watch a great movie with a stunning story plot after a long time. But alas, I didn’t find the movie any great & yes the movie is very overrated. I don’t like criticizing great directors/ writers like Vishal Bhardwaj, Anurag Kashyap, Sudhir Mishra & their Associates-became-Directors, but I must say this – Dedh Ishqiya was a not-so-good attempt of Abhishek Chaubey.

In the nutshell…

Movie type: On a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate it a 6
Story plot: Not so great
Dialogues: Average & little Pushy
Chemistry of key characters: I would say Good but not great
Naseeruddin Shah: Brilliant as usual
Arshad Warsi: Anybody could have replaced him
Vijay Raaz: BRILLIANT!
Huma Qureshi: Over acting in few crucial scenes
Madhuri Dixit: It’s high time She should be honored with the Life time achievement Award, No offence.

It’s almost after a year I felt an urge to watch a movie but It disappointed me again. The last movie I saw was Bombay Talkies a year ago & It was a disappointment too. I still can’t decipher What Bombay Talkies exactly meant to be… What was its purpose… & How did it celebrate the 100 years of Cinema? Anyways I am not convinced of the movie yet.

I would be lying if I say I don’t like Bollywood. Of course I love Bollywood for the fantastic movies It has produced in last 10-15 years. They are few in number, but one can’t complain. Every industry has its own capacity of producing great products. (Mobile phone industry has only one such great product – iPhone 😉 ).

I loved watching movies like – Maqbool, The Blue Umbrella, Barfi, Aamir, Trishna, Paan Sing Tomar, Gulaal, Oye Lucky, LSD, Hazaron Khwaishein Aishi, Dor, Iqbal, Mr & Mrs Iyer, Munnai Bhai series, Lagaan, Dil Chahta hai, AAA, Manorama, Dev D & more. These movies had brilliant story plots with amazing chemistry of characters & unique of their kind. These movies were 360 degrees brilliant in nature & none of it disappointed me a bit.

But the excellence in cinema is slowly bleeding to its death it seems.. VB made movies like Matru ki bijli, Anurag Kashyap is busy making short movies, Sudhir mishra’s Inkaar came & gone yet no news of it, Shreyash Talpade opting for Golmaal shit, Aamir khan doing Dhoom 3, Kay Kay Menon-no where to be seen, Irfan Khan-thankfully you find in some, Deepak Dobriyal-Last we saw in Tanu weds Manu?, Priyanka Chopra became Pinky…yuckk, Chitrangada Singh-Where the hell has she disappeared?, Pankaj Kapoor – Hope He’s not planning for a retirement so soon.. Sigh!

“Dear Bollywood, Please don’t bleed to death so soon. We haven’t seen the glorious side of you enough. All we ask for is, just ONE brilliant movie a year & we are content with that. Thank You.

Regards,
The Poor & Hungry Indian”

Leave a Reply

