An Unanswered Question

Some days ago we got an assignment “To write about a thing you wish to have in the future and what is the process you will follow while purchasing the product”. The assignment was submitted in the next lecture as usual by working in the last minute as most MBA guys do. But one question remained in my mind and that is…

“What is that thing (Tangible) I wish to have in the future”, lolzzzzzzzz, I am still confused!

lb0606-001.jpg

I thought a lot about that. Every time I came out with the common answers i.e. a nice luxury car or a bike or a bungalow. But the answers were not satisfactory. Because whenever I cross questioned my self, my mind went blank. Till now I couldn’t find any answer.

I asked many people about what is that thing they wish to have? The first thing that came into their mind is……… Can you imagine? Yes, the same!!! A nice car or bike or a bungalow…

So I ask you, is a car or a bike or a bungalow so big things, one would wish to have them? Assuming, a car may not be a great thing for higher middle class or high class people. So what would these High Class people desire to have in future, a helicopter! Or a plane! Or an Island!

This question may seem funny to most of us. But ask yourself once, what is that thing you wish to have 10 or 15 years down the line and try to get an honest answer. Please remember “A TANGIBLE thing Not any Experience or Intangible thing and your wish should not be a Fictitious thing.

One more task for you,

Try to be a bit spontaneous and write the first thing that comes into your mind, and not wonder about it and then write. So think about it and write it down quickly without giving a second thought, let’s see how true you are to yourself.

(If you have any problem in writing your wish here, write in a fictitious name. but plz write the honest answer)

15 responses

  1. Well if I have t spend my money or rather part with it…I wud rather invest in shares for what is the money of use if it cant generate more income for you. Now you can say that shares or mutual funds are intangible. They are not. At least you tend to get a certificate for that. But again if it is about recreational or kinda spending money on xactly tangibles, then why not a collection of priceless wines, potteries, coins. May be even Vintage Cars!….What Say!

    April 2, 2007 at 7:59 PM

  2. Siva

    i think this is a gr8 attempt of self awareness…according to me..i feel ” One does not go in search of tangible things in life, he goes in search of intangible things, like name, fame, and other stuff….” This is the first answer that came in mind..this is what we learn frm childhood…

    April 2, 2007 at 8:33 PM

  3. pranshu

    i just wanna be happy…that is the end we are all lookin for…what will give me happniness…lotsa money, good friends around me and my family…cheers!

    April 2, 2007 at 8:39 PM

  4. shanta

    I want to see my parents young and fit even after 15years. I want them to stay healty for that i am ready to work hard. I want to reduce the medical expence. For me they are my tangible assets, i have my asste but i want to retain ………… as long as i possible. THANK YOU

    April 2, 2007 at 9:05 PM

  5. i want to see my name on most ad maagazines in the country as a writer ..and one tangiable thing i always want to have is my sense of humour

    April 2, 2007 at 10:02 PM

  6. AshoK

    i want to see myself as a successful business person to deliver one of the fastest supply chain to the retaill industry of guj. state and talk about tangible things then my unique personality.

    April 3, 2007 at 3:17 AM

  7. Anonymous

    Heyyy Debu, ur blog compelled me to drop in a reply, coz this is one thing even i think of often. After reading half way thru, i instantly got my answer – i want a PURPOSE in life, i think my life lacks a strong purpose. But then as u mentioned in the latter half, its got to be tangible thing. Well, that’s more difficult…and that too to think instantaneously. An instant reply may say a big car or a bungalow…not because we all crave for them so strongly…but because these are in a way seen as hallmarks of success and a position in the society…which i feel is not completely wrong. I couldn’t think of any tangible thing because i feel they reflect indirectly somre to some intangble desire…for eg. desire to own a big car is nothing but a manifestation of the intangible desire of having name, fame etc.

    April 3, 2007 at 9:29 PM

  8. Sudhir subudhi

    My God! This is top and tough question as well. I really want something. But what, I can’t decide.

    April 4, 2007 at 11:21 PM

  9. Biswajyoti Sahu

    the first thing comes to my mind is a beautiful house and i want to live with my parents. But after i repetedly thing abt it i got the answer that is the tangible thing is my boss’s chair.

    April 6, 2007 at 7:52 PM

  10. niharika

    as im a girl so the first thing comes to my mind is my life partner. so i dream of a nice human being with whom i can spend my whole life without any hasitation.

    April 12, 2007 at 7:20 PM

  11. swetha

    My wish regarding this issue is my lifepartner…I wish to have a good understanding and loving lifepartner, with whom i can live happily the rest of my life….

    April 13, 2007 at 8:48 AM

  12. Anonymous

    Heyyy Debu, ur blog compelled me to drop in a reply, coz this is one thing even i think of often. After reading half way thru, i instantly got my answer – i want a PURPOSE in life, i think my life lacks a strong purpose. But then as u mentioned in the latter half, its got to be tangible thing. Well, that’s more difficult…and that too to think instantaneously. An instant reply may say a big car or a bungalow…not because we all crave for them so strongly…but because these are in a way seen as hallmarks of success and a position in the society…which i feel is not completely wrong. I couldn’t think of any tangible thing because i feel they reflect indirectly somre to some intangble desire…for eg. desire to own a big car is nothing but a manifestation of the intangible desire of having name, fame etc.

    rajjjjjjjjjj

    April 14, 2007 at 2:59 PM

  13. Sai suman gubba

    First i have to sorry all the readers coz my english is not so good..Ok any way when i first read the question..what i got in my mind was not thingable it is my parents happiness and my beloveds happiness..Really we work hard for these things in the life..We may get these in the form of thingable or may not…This is true… felling…

    June 7, 2007 at 5:26 PM

  14. Namitoz

    first and foremost – someone, sometime back said- “everything that can be invented has been invented”. still we see so many new inventions taking place every day (almost). ever heard of icarus? so i dont buy ur statement of “the thing should not be fictitious”.

    lets go by the conventional way – modifications of things we’ve already experienced. like u said ur thought process went to bikes and cars. not a bad thought i must say. but just go into a deeper thought. u and most of the people r thinking on the same lines. they r thinking about automation.

    wat does automation require? —-fuel.

    if so many people r using fuel, wat will be scarce.

    i will leave u with tht thought. to build upon it and analyze it further is ur job. but as a students doing mba, try to keep ur thoughts to the ground realities. wen in doubt – go to basics. break the thought into different pieces, pick-up each piece and think about it.

    God is in the ————. i think u know this one.

    September 2, 2007 at 5:46 PM

  15. very interesting.
    i’m adding in RSS Reader

    January 8, 2008 at 8:57 AM

Leave a Reply

